Night pampering routine

IMG_0183Happy Sunday!

So once in a while I feel like I need to give both my skin and hair some extra love, which means a nice pampering night with both face and hair masks! I have to admit that it’s been a while since I’ve given my hair or skin any extra treatment, so it was about time.

In addition to it being a long time since the last face/hair mask has been done, me and Henrik cleaned the entire apartment today and put on fresh sheets. This put me to the idea that no other time will be more appropriate for a pampering night. I love the feeling of getting fresh out of the shower and into clean, fresh sheets. What a great way to end the day.

So moving on to the pampering routine. First thing I do is to coat my hair in coconut oil. Yes, normal, extra virgin coconut oil. It preforms great as a hair mask because it makes the hair so soft and shiny!  Of course, apply the coconut oil a while before going into the shower, so it will have some time to sit in the hair. You don’t want to apply it in the shower, after shampoo, like you normal would use a hair mask. this is oil you’re putting in you hair, so you’ll want to wash it out. Good. Or ease your hair and scalp might look way, way too shiny.

On to the skin care. I remove any makeup with my oil cleanser, and then remove this oil cleanser with my Andalou Naturals Mayor Lemon Creamy Cleanser – this is what I do every night. After that I use my Acure Brightening Scrub to remove any dead skin cells and get a fresh and clean layer on the skin. I make sure to work it in very well on places I tend to get dry patches, like around my nose, on my nose and on my forehead. I find that when I use this scrub on a regular basis my skin looks a lot brighter and makeup applies so much better and even.

Lastly, on the skin care, I use the Now Solutions European Green Clay Powder, mixed with water to make a thick paste, and apply this as an all over face mask. This draw out dirt from the skin, like makeup, pollution or any other dirt that get into the pores. This is a clay mask, which dries after a while. I like to use this to keep my skin clean and clear. I wash this off when it has dried completely and finishes off my skincare routine as I usually do: with toner, eye cream and moisturizer.

After all of these steps are done, I hop into the shower to was the coconut oil out off my hair. I might wash my hair twice with shampoo to make sure that there is no oily residue in the hair. Lastly, after I get out of the shower, I use more coconut oil to moisturize my entire body. And viola! Fresh and clean, ready for bed! What a lovely feeling!

Good night world!

-IK

 

Published by

IngerKristinNG

IK - I'm feeling 22 - Soon to be student - On a vegan journey

4 thoughts on “Night pampering routine”

    1. You should really try using coconut oil on the hair as a treatment, it leaves it so silky soft and shiny! 🙂
      I’ve been eating mostly vegan for a couple of months now, and I feel like I’m starting to really get a hang of it. In some situations I still find it a little difficult though, especially because there are not many vegan alternatives, except plant-based milks though) in the local grocery stores around me, only in bigger supermarkets. But it’s defiantly worth it though, I am so sure this is the right path for me!
      If your considering going vegan, or interested in learning more about it, watch the documentaries Forks Over Knives, Earthlings and Cowpsaricy. They are amazing! I’d also recommend reading Dr. John McDougle’s book The Starch Solutions. Don’t be intimidated by the change, it’s easier than you think 🙂 I’ll make a blog post going more in depth though 🙂

      -IK

      Like

Leave a Reply

