I think we won the lottery

If you didn’t know, May 17th is actually Norway’s Constitution Day! And trust me, we know how to celebrate! The city centre was packed with people today, packed like you literally walk in a que, and who all showed up to celebrate this wonderful country of ours. I have to say it’s incredible and I defiantly got a strong feeling of pride, joy and a national unity. We celebrate with big parades, family and friends, and our finest clothes. On day’s like this is easy to forget how lucky we truly are. We seriously won the lottery when getting to live in this beautiful country. No, I’m not just talking about the nature, which is, believe me, astonishing beautiful and attracts tourist from all around the world. I am talking about the beauty of how all children have a right to education. How if we get sick and have to stay in the hospital, don’t need to worry how we’re going to pay for it, because the state is taking care of that. How if you lose your job, there is welfare arrangement that can help you out. How when you have a baby the mother gets one year maternity leave. How we have plenty of clean water, while there is a huge lack of it for people elsewhere. Our tap water seriously tastes way better than anything else I’ve ever tasted, and it’s incredibly clean. We are one of the richest countries in the world, as well as one of the best to live in. Of course, we have our flaws and trust me, our systems is not perfect, but then again what is? We are just humans, and even though we strive for perfection and always try to better our selves, which of course is also a good thing, it’s also important to see the big picture. That compared to the rest of the world, we are doing very, very well. We are luckier than most of the human population. And that is not an overstatement.

When I was a teenager I wanted to move out of Norway because I thought it was so dull here, and the USA seemed so much more exciting. Now, I am old enough to understand how lucky we are in this country, and I see clearly that those countries that looked so exciting a few years ago, is nothing compared to Norway.

I am so damn lucky, because I live in Norway. It feels like I won the geographical lottery.

-IK

 

 

Published by

IngerKristinNG

IK - I'm feeling 22 - Soon to be student - On a vegan journey

Leave a Reply

