My skincare secret!

Hi my loves!

Skincare is something I’ve  always been very interested about, and I’ve tried so many different skincare brands, but high-end and low-end. Today I’m sharing with my skincare “secret”.  Oils. Yes, Oils.

Ok, I know this may sound crazy to some, putting oil on the face? Isn’t that what we all want to avoid? That’s what we’re all been taught right, that oil-free products are better. When I first was drawn into the world of skin care oils, I was horrified that anyone would want t put oil on their face. My skin used to be combination/oily, so putting oil on my face was the absolute last thing I wanted to do. However, I am now completely converted and oils are a big part of my sincere routine. I am here to let you know how you can incorporate oils into you own skincare.

A very important thing you need to know, is that not all oils work for everyone. Which oils that works for you is very individual, and because of this there is defiantly a trial and error you have go through to find the right oils for you. Be patience, it’ll be worth it. I would not recommend olive and coconut oil on the face though, because these oils have a bigger chance of clogging your pores and make the skin break out. 

The Oil cleansing method: This is basically using oil to cleanse the face. When I first heard about this I was really confused. How could that possibly work? The logic behind this is that like attract like, which means the oil you use to cleanse will attract and bring out the oils in your skin, and this way you’ll cleanse the skin. This is something I use every night to remove my makeup, usually I’ll use this first then use my normal cleanser. Some nights though, I use the oil cleansing method alone and it feels lovely on the skin. I’ll make a more in debt post about the oil cleansing method later as it’s rather comprehensive.

I like making my own oil cleanser, here’s the mix I’m currently using:

  • 1 part Castor oil
  • 1 part Sweet Almond Oil
  • 1 Part Grapeseed oil
  • Tea Tree oil (any essential oil of choice will do, be careful with these though)

 

Oil as moisturizer: I also love using oils as a moisturizer. Currently I am mixing Acure’s Marula oil with my other moisturizer at night-time to give my skin an extra boost of moisture. This has worked lovely for my skin, often I feel like using only an oil as a moisturizer actually is not moisturizing enough for my skin, as well as I sometimes get tiny bumps on my skin if I use only the oil as a moisturizer for a longer period of time. I really recommend Acure’s Marula Oil and Firming Oil, they are both great oils I’ve used and loved! I also really like using rose hip seed oil, which is a lighter oil that absorbs rather quickly into the skin. If you’re not used to using oils, this one would probably a very good one to begin with because it absorbs so quickly,

Essential oils:

An essential oil is a concentrated hydrophobic liquid containing volatile aroma compounds from plants. Essential oils are also known as volatile oilsethereal oilsaetherolea, or simply as the oil of the plant from which they were extracted, such as oil of clove. An oil is “essential” in the sense that it contains the “essence of” the plant’s fragrance—the characteristic fragrance of the plant from which it is derived

Essential oils are I love using essential oils, but one thing to keep in mind is to be careful with these! They are very potent and should always be diluted in a carrier oil (such as jojoba oil, olive oil, sweet almond oil ect.) My favorite essential oil is without a doubt tea tree oil, this one is incredibly effective on pimples! I use it as a spot treatment whenever I get pimple, and it gets rid of it really quickly, Another essential oil I love is peppermint, which I rub (diluted off) on my forehead, tempos and underneath my nose whenever I feel a headache coming.

Do you use any oils in your skincare or beauty routine?

Namaste!

-IK

 

 

Published by

IngerKristinNG

IK - I'm feeling 22 - Soon to be student - On a vegan journey

4 thoughts on “My skincare secret!”

Leave a Reply

